Passing the mantle

Timeless classics from a legendary pop icon …. Too many award winning songs that sets feet a tapping and lyrics that conveys the depths of human emotions. Poignant songs that asks the questions of life to declaring what the world needs. ” What’s it all about , Alfie ?” questioning what a man needs in life to ” What the world needs now is love “.

Jazz standards that were intrinsically adopted by jazz artists and showed versatility  in the musical genius of a man who wrote scores for movies and musicals. Acclaimed and in demand by singing sensations who wanted his music in their songs so it would boost their billboard ratings.

Fingers caressing the piano to produce melodies that charm and beguile.He proves that age is not a barrier as he performs his medleys in a raspy faltering voice. Many questioned why he would still choose to perform. In jest, many asked if that man was still alive. I wondered those many things myself. He seemed a shadow of his former self in comparison to the many rising music stars and geniuses… A has-been in the world of youth and fresh sounds. It may have been he is reconciling his past accomplishments in his final performances as death lingers around the corner.

Inspite of the nostalgia of the evening, what seemed significant to him and to me was the bonding he felt as his son played the keyboard skilfully. What moved me to tears was the song he had recently composed to exhort others to carry on. A very personal and poignant tribute to his fans and those who would inherit his legacy in the fullest sense of the word. A farewell song from him  ..a passing of the mantle as his life slowly extinguishes.

The lyrics as I recall were along the lines of ” when the tears flow and when fears come, I know you ‘ve got what it takes inside of you to carry on..”  I sense the finality of these words as it articulates the unspoken words of every person in  imagined death bed scenes.   Perhaps it expresses our human need to reassure the next generation of their ability to create and perpetuate the legacy, the values , the culture, the passion , the mission, the purposes and life itself.

Great biblical leaders have laid their hands of blessings and used words of assurance.  Jesus himself modelled the passing of the mantle through the Great Commission. Unaware , each of us have been passing mantles and will continue to do so in the many spheres and seasons of life that we live.  We have done it in so many ways. A Pop icon uses his music to pass the mantle and sings his .exhortation.Roles  taken on and let go off indicates closure. It marks the launch of many new journeys for others.

I reflect on what it means to have closure at the end of my life.  To pass on the mantle  efficaciously and with full confidence.  How wonderful if one could still sing it and declare it with music and lyrics that matter. I face the questions that ensue – How will I pass on the final mantle ?  It seems all of my life is the preparation for that occasion .Am I morbid or is realistically one of life’s purposes?

At the end of the evening , I am still inspired by the Pop icon.

Thank you , Burt Bacharach. You have wowed the audiences. You have shown age is not a barrier to making music. You have composed music that made me sing and declare that I ‘m never going to stop the rain and raindrops by complaining.

I was enriched by your music as it surrounded my growing up years. It lives on in my subconscious.

I have the look of love .

Inspired by an evening with Burt 28/10/15

About Sharereal

A journey in life is a journey of the heart in walking God's purposes as He intended.My vocational choices started with training in the legal profession and have evolved to a multitude of roles.I write this blog to share God's divine work in my life , to leave a legacy for others.It has been a journey of faith....I write to express my journey and life - sharing what is real.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment