In search of Leadership – Part 2

In search of “Leadership”  .Part 2

Searching for answers and seeking Him

In the solitude of the night

Has become an expression of a theme

Of my need to see the light

Leadership is a concept so nebulous

Those who embody it are aglow with fame

They consider the power fabulous

And manipulation becomes the game.

Defining it makes Gurus abound

The “ goals “, the “how-to”s, the dizzying array

Of information from sources so sound

is enough to send one scurrying away.

With the music, feasts and the banquet

And testimonials which affirm and accept

Makes one dejected and inadequate

As one’s being is shaken precept by precept

One can always ask to develop the habits

Increasing the statistics with structures effective

“Count the figures and multiply like rabbits”

Is the catch-cry of growth from voices persuasive

One can always whinge to slow the rate

And comment and debate and question with reason

Tirade if you must for on minds it will grate

Till you are guilty of the crime of treason

Decisions are made from the various tensions

They have been pored over and scrutinised

Till they have been stripped from all pretensions

Following the example of One who has but agonised.

One Voice calls out to us in our moments of doubt

“Where were you when at the cross I was crucified ?”

Follow me as One who came not to rant and shout

For My calling would have left you torn and petrified

For I did not come to be served but to serve

There were moments when I spoke to crowds

And to some who were a test on my nerve

Yet to many whose minds were wrapped in shrouds

Look to me for I am called leadership demystified

It really is another name for giving in servanthood

I am the one who is love and grace exemplified

And yet I am often vilified and misunderstood

The world systems has never known this Treasure

And sometimes His followers do not know any better

The truth is we must grow in increasing measure

Of Christ-likeness beyond word and letter.

I ask myself who I am to seek to follow

Without a doubt, within my heart – Christ the servant

For that will transform a life empty and hollow

That all of my life be passionate and fervent!

Colossians 2:7-9

See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ.

2 Corinthians 10:5

We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.


Cheryl

14 October 2009

About Sharereal

A journey in life is a journey of the heart in walking God's purposes as He intended.My vocational choices started with training in the legal profession and have evolved to a multitude of roles.I write this blog to share God's divine work in my life , to leave a legacy for others.It has been a journey of faith....I write to express my journey and life - sharing what is real.
This entry was posted in Leadership and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment